Preface - the following conversation was done in a nice even voice - I don't yell, get mad, throw things or anything like that - I'm more of a - let's talk about it - and then if the conclusion isn't acceptable I just walk away.
---
Yesterday was a very busy day. I have a business where I make Native American Dance Regalia plus I teach Native American Craft classes (moccasins, dance fans, beadwork, etc.) at a Vo Tech in the next town over.
I had 3 places to stop before getting to the school for class and had the time down to barely enough to get everything done and still complete some work at home. Then, a good friend called and needed help with her computer. She's 70 and is getting online!!! You go girl! Anyway, I went out to her house to help her. Of course it took longer than expected, but I figured I could still make all 3 stops before class.
The first stop was to a small shop where that carries an item I need in my business. I've shopped at this shop many times and usually spend upwards to $100 each time. I'm not their best customer - but I am a frequent customer. And who knows I might be in the market for some of their pricier goods someday.
As usual, I grabbed my credit card and put it in my jacket pocket so it would be a quick in/out stop.
Anyway, in about 10 seconds I had the two small items I needed in hand and proceeded to the checkout counter. The new little clerk asked me if I had a frequent buyers card - No, I said. Would I like to sign up for one? No, I said. Did I find everything I needed? Yes, I said. And she rang up my sale. She even offered me one of their fancy-dancy paper sacks, but since I'm trying to live as green and frugally as I can, I said, don't bother with the sack, I'll just toss them in my purse. Thank you she said.
She processed the credit card and said - oh, your card isn't signed, can I see some ID? No, I said. - Now, I rarely get asked for proof of ID, and in the once every 2 or 3 years when I tell the clerk no - then they just go about their business, have me sign the receipt and I walk out with the goods. Of course I had my ID, in my purse, but I was in a hurry and the total was only $12.80.
So the owner, who has waited on me several times came over and said - we can't process this sale without ID. I said - so you're rather lose a sale because the back of my card isn't signed? She said she was only doing it to protect me. I thanked her and I asked her if the card had been signed and matched the signature on the receipt then she would have not questioned the purchase. She said that was correct. I said, so the next time I steal a card all I have to do it sign the persons name in my handwriting and I'm good to go. She didn't have a response.
Besides that - I said - I think I'd probably use a stolen credit card for a lot more than $12.80 - like buying gasoline or food.
I said - You know I shop here, its not like I've never been in here before. And she said the DA said she wasn't to accept cards without a signature. I must have looked surprised because I said - the DA handles credit card fraud? (I take credit cards and the DA in my town doesn't do credit card fraud - its a civil matter, plus I'm protected by my credit card processing center.)
I said OK and turned and left the store. Outside at the car I realized I left my keys on the counter. So back in I go and the owner is standing there holding the credit card receipt. I pick up my keys and turn to leave again and she said - the charge went through. I stopped and asked, so you're going to let me have my purchase? She said - with ID. Fine, I said, just reverse the charges and again headed towards the door.
From behind she says ... but I need your card to issue a refund.
I stop and head back to the counter. I handed her my card and she turned to process the refund. The new clerk said she was sorry, and the owner said - don't apologize to her - you're only doing what I told you to do. So now the owner has turned back to me with my card and refund slip. I take the card and turn to leave.
She said you need to sign the refund receipt.
I stopped and turned again - and said, without ID? She said yes. So, I signed the refund receipt and as I was putting the card back in my billfold, I took out my ID, showed it to the clerk, and said, I just don't want you to think I really am a liar and a thief.
As I was putting the ID back into my billfold, I asked the owner if she had a website. Yes - she said. I asked - so you take internet orders? Yes - she said.
I wonder how long it took her to realize she takes credit card orders without being able to see ID, but won't accept a card from a return customer standing in front of her.
I still made it to the other 2 stops and to class on time. I know this could all have been prevented - but dang it...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment