Thursday, October 15, 2009

Weem,k 3 - Post 4

Money spent: $0  Miles driven: 0  How day was spent: Work, Work, Work

Today I put together a version of the Candle Heeter.  Basically its a candle sitting inside an Oil Lamp Globe with 2 Orchid Clay Pots sitting on top held together by a steel Bolt and 5 washers and 5 nuts. 

At 8:55 pm, after just lighting the candle, the ambient room temp was 65 F.  The clay pot read 65 degrees as did the sleet bolt.

At 9:00 pm, the ambient room temp was 65 degrees F.  The clay pot read 72 degress and the steel bolt read 86 degrees.

At 9:15 pm the ambient room temp was  65  degrees F.  The clay pot read 78  degrees and the steel bolt read 114 degrees.

At 9:45 pm the ambient room temp was N?A  I turned on the little space heater degrees F.  The clay pot read 91 degrees and the steel bolt read 141 degrees.

I'm going to leave the candle on as long as I'm up and will take measurements one more time before I go to bed.  Will light it in the am and let it burn all day in a room that does not have an alterative heat source in it just to test the theory that it can raise the ambient temp by several degrees.

I will note that the vent holes in the Orchid pots are not streaming hot air.  I think once the pots are completely warmed to max temp then the heat will start to disipate more through the holes.

ttyl

The Squeelin Gypsy

Monday, October 12, 2009

Week 3 - Post 3

Today I spent 10.11 for 2 boxes of white tea bags - yummy and a deli sandwich
plus 12.36 for moccasin insoles, grapes, bread

I had my first Shawl making class today.  What a fun group of women.  I start a Shawl making class tomorrow with the Tonkawa's and they're always fun too...just always late to arriving for class.

It looks like the Fan making class is also going to make.

All these classes are keeping me here - I am going to be in Wewoka, Ok on the 24th, maybe can take a side trip on the way home and enjoy myself a little.

Went to a Memorial Dinner for a dear friend that passed away one year ago today.  She's one of those people that when you meet them, you know they're going to be in your life, one way or another, for the rest of it.  But her battle with Cancer changed all that.  She fought hard and always still had a smile.  I',m very glad that I was lucky enough to have know here for the 3 years I did.

Gonna go to bed.  Its about 11pm and I'm sleepy.

Sunday, October 11, 2009

Week 3 - Post 2

I have been doing just a little work today and a lot of perusing the net. 

My mother has a little black terrier mix dog named Hank.  She got the puppy from ASPCA and though it was just a puppy, it has grown to be a mean, hateful, controlling, conving bully.  Yep, all 14 pounds of him.

My dog, a dear sweet Heller mix named Buddy has to share the fenced yard with him and I swear I hear him sigh with relief every time I bring him inside away for the little hairy Natzi.

I mean Hank will run over to him and jump up on his face with both paws, essentially punching him in the face.  For no reason other than he just wants to.

But, when that little terror looks up at me with those coal black eyes in that face covered with coal black hair I too just melt.  I truly love the little dog - but really wish he'd behave with more manners.  Either that or that my dog would grow another pair and put him in his place.

I doubt either will happen any time soon so I'll still have to be the back yard police trying to keep Hank from bullying my dog.

 

Week 3 - Post 1

Yesterday:

I spent $35.76 on groceries - Strawberries, Grapes, Milk, Bread Dough, Banana's, Crackers, Multi-grain Doritos (if you haven't tried them...you should - I often snack on them instead of eating an evening meal along with chunks of cheese..)

I made Salmon Pattie with left over Salmon from the day before.  Yummy!!!

Today:

I've committed myself to working on this boring old blog.  I have work to do, but am in a good enough position with it that I can afford to take today away from it.

I checked some of my forums about how Vandwellers heat their vans.  I think I will go with something called an Eventcat Propane heater that works off of a propane bottle.  I don't think I will need continuous heat at night, only intermittent heat.  And this little beauty has a "cup holder" thingy so I don't have to worry about it tipping over or something falling on it.  I'm not going to live in my van full time, so the expense of the bottles won't add too much to my expenses.  I will also carry along a heavy duty Extension Cord so if I find someplace that I want to stay more than a day or so, I can plug in and use my portable electric heater.

As for not having heat at night - its actually something I've already been doing.  For the last several years I've closed my bedroom doors and used a portable electric heater set to come on at its lowest setting.  Then I sleep under a fleecce sheet with a wool blanket on top.  Keeps me quite toasty.  My dog gets to sleep on some fleece blankets I've sewn into a little bed.  This way I can wash and dry them as needed.  He seems ok with the set up.  In the really cold nights, I put a little doggie sweater on him.

OK, off to work more on this blog.

Thanks for reading and please come back soon!!!

The Squeelin Gypsy 

Saturday, October 10, 2009

Week 2 - Post 3

It feels like its been forever since I've posted. 

I've been quite busy with getting orders out the door, and money in, plus all  my classes are making this semester which means I'm teaching a lot.

There is an Embroidery Seminar in Indiana at the end of the month that I want to go to.  But, I keep thinking that I can't drive 11 hours  there and not take another 8 hours to go see the kids in Maryland.  I plan on driving to Maryland in November - taking 2 weeks around the Holidays.  I know I can't always restrict travel to the East coast without seeing them but I only see then 2 times a year now and it just feels like a waste of travel to not go the extra distance.

But, then again, I really want to to go this Seminar for my own personal wants and needs.

I guess we'll see in 2 weeks if I'm on the road there or not.

I had to take my Embroidery machine to Tulsa for its bi-annual check up this week.  While there I scoured all the thrift stores within a reasonable distance plus I made it into an army/navy surplus store.  There I bought some thin wool socks and started to buy some insulated underwear.  I had a pair that was silk several years ago that were wonderfully warm under my jeans.  But, I need a new pair and am not quite ready for the thick insulated material I find everywhere.  I'll have to keep my eyes open for silk ones.

Besides, now that I've put it out into the  universe that I need silk ones, I'm sure they'll pop up somewhere at a reasonable price.

While in Tulsa, I stopped and ate at Panera and rea e-mails.  I had to wait until 3pm to pick up the Baby so I had a few hours left from thrifting to wait.  What I wanted and should have done was stopped at a grocery store for lunch (or packed a luch) then gone to Panera for a warm drink.

Eventhough I cook breakfast then eat a good lunch and snack on popcorn  or make a cheese torntilla for supper, I have got to quit thinking that just because I eat one good meal a day that its worth spending $8 - $10 on.  Geesh.  This is stupid.  I need to get out of that mindset and eat/live frugally and not consider needless splurges as necessary.

But today is a new day and I have another chance to make it better than the day before.


The Squeelin Gypsy

Thursday, October 1, 2009

Week 2 - Post 2

On the road again - the Squeelin Gypsy and I will be on the road again...

As we say in the South - I'm fixin to get ready for a 2 night trip this weekend.  Another Pow Wow - of course!

I've posted to some of the forums asking about what keeps the travelers safe and secure.  I don't want to carry a gun, taser or pepper spray - these could all very easily be overtaken and used on me instead. One person mentioned wasp spray with a 25 foot range - sounds pretty good to me.  A pesky intruder may not think its such a good idea though.  Besides, I wonder how far a skunk can spray?  I won't mind high tailin it out of an area sprayed by a skunk as long as me or the Gypsy are directly involved.  I've heard that smell is nearly impossible to get rid off.

I'm a light sleeper and maybe waking at every little sound outside will be something I quit doing over time.  Boy, the night sure does have a lot of sounds!!! 

On the last trip I heard a band of coyote's off in the distance and remembered how I used to live waaaayyyy out in the country and had to be sure my little doggie was not let outside at night off the leash - she was ripe pickin for a coyote snack.  The yesterday I read in a magazine how Jessica Simpson's little doggie got taken by coyote's. Its all about survival and staying at the top of the food chain. 

And please dont' get me thinking about the movies "last house on the left" and "deliverance".  Gesh - what a way to ruin a perfectly good weekend!!!

My grandma used to refer to worrying about the unknown as "borrowing trouble".

So, I hope to find some tips and tricks and will post them here. Until then - you stay safe and secure...

Monday, September 28, 2009

Week 2 - Post 1

Thoroughly enjoyed the Standing Bear Pow Wow.  Last year the really good dancers didn't seem to be there, but this year they were there in droves - it was great. 

I'm going to the Native Freedman of the Five Civilized Tribes Pow Wow next weekend.  I won't be camping even though it is well over an hours drive, because I will be traveling with some friends and they will be coming home Friday night and going back on Saturday. 

The Freedman are trying to get this Pow Wow built up and we're all glad to go and participate and hopefully it will become a yearly event. 


Here's my thoughts on Freedman getting tribal status and benefits.

Many years ago, when the escapee slaves and Freeman negros migrated south and lived with tribes of the Southeast - Creek/Seminole/Cherokee and others, they intermarried and had biracial children.

I believe the decendents of these children should be given membership status.  If they qualify for a CDIB, then they should qualify for a tribal card. 

I don't believe that decendents of these children who cannot qualify for a CDIB should get a tribal card. 

There are many native's that because their grandparents didn't want to be assimilated and put on roles, etc., that are denied membership because of their grandparents choices.  Its unforturnate...but that's they way it is.

I'll now get down from my soapbox. 


Its a gorgeous cool day here in Okie-homa.  Still warm enough to sleep with the windows open.  I do not look forward to closing them and turning on the heater.

Friday, September 25, 2009

She made her point - and lost a customer

Preface - the following conversation was done in a nice even voice - I don't yell, get mad, throw things or anything like that - I'm more of a - let's talk about it - and then if the conclusion isn't acceptable I just walk away.

---

Yesterday was a very busy day.  I have a business where I make Native American Dance Regalia plus I teach Native American Craft classes (moccasins, dance fans, beadwork, etc.) at a Vo Tech in the next town over.   

I had 3 places to stop before getting to the school for class and had the time down to barely enough to get everything done and still complete some work at home.  Then, a good friend called and needed help with her computer.  She's 70 and is getting online!!!  You go girl!  Anyway, I went out to her house to help her.  Of course it took longer than expected, but I figured I could still make all 3 stops before class.

The first stop was to a small shop where that carries an item I need in my business.  I've shopped at this shop many times and usually spend upwards to $100 each time.  I'm not their best customer - but I am a frequent customer.  And who knows I might be in the market for some of their pricier goods someday.

As usual, I grabbed my credit card and put it in my jacket pocket so it would be a quick in/out stop.

Anyway, in about 10 seconds I had the two small items I needed in hand and proceeded to the checkout counter.  The new little clerk asked me if I had a frequent buyers card - No, I said.  Would I like to sign up for one?  No, I said.  Did I find everything I needed?  Yes, I said.  And she rang up my sale.  She even offered me one of their fancy-dancy paper sacks, but since I'm trying to live as green and frugally as I can, I said, don't bother with the sack, I'll just toss them in my purse. Thank you she said.

She processed the credit card and said - oh, your card isn't signed, can I see some ID?  No, I said.  - Now, I rarely get asked for proof of ID, and in the once every 2 or 3 years when I tell the clerk no - then they just go about their business, have me sign the receipt and I walk out with the goods.  Of course I had my ID, in my purse, but I was in a hurry and the total was only $12.80. 

So the owner, who has waited on me several times came over and said - we can't process this sale without ID.  I said - so you're rather lose a sale because the back of my card isn't signed?  She said she was only doing it to protect me.  I thanked her and I asked her if the card had been signed and matched the signature on the receipt then she would have not questioned the purchase.  She said that was correct.  I said, so the next time I steal a card all I have to do it sign the persons name in my handwriting and I'm good to go.  She didn't have a response.

Besides that - I said - I think I'd probably use a stolen credit card for a lot more than $12.80 - like buying gasoline or food.

I said - You know I shop here, its not like I've never been in here before.  And she said the DA said she wasn't to accept cards without a signature.  I must have looked surprised because I said - the DA handles credit card fraud?  (I take credit cards and the DA in my town doesn't do credit card fraud - its a civil matter, plus I'm protected by my credit card processing center.) 

I said OK and turned and left the store.  Outside at the car I realized I left my keys on the counter.  So back in I go and the owner is standing there holding the credit card receipt.  I pick up my keys and turn to leave again and she said - the charge went through.  I stopped and asked, so you're going to let me have my purchase?  She said - with ID.  Fine, I said, just reverse the charges and again headed towards the door. 

From behind she says ... but I need your card to issue a refund.

I stop and head back to the counter.  I handed her my card and she turned to process the refund.  The new clerk said she was sorry, and the owner said - don't apologize to her - you're only doing what I told you to do.  So now the owner has turned back to me with my card and refund slip.  I take the card and turn to leave.   

She said you need to sign the refund receipt.

I stopped and turned again - and said, without ID?  She said yes.  So, I signed the refund receipt and as I was putting the card back in my billfold, I took out my ID, showed it to the clerk, and said, I just don't want you to think I really am a liar and a thief. 

As I was putting the ID back into my billfold, I asked the owner if she had a website.  Yes - she said.  I asked - so you take internet orders?  Yes - she said.   

I wonder how long it took her to realize she takes credit card orders without being able to see ID, but won't accept a card from a return customer standing in front of her.




I still made it to the other 2 stops and to class on time.  I know this could all have been prevented - but dang it...

Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Week1 - Post 2

Thanks for all that have extended their friendship and well wishes for my travels.  I'm planning a trip to a Pow Wow this weekend, but its only 40 miles away.  A friend of mine is coming from 90 miles away and he may take the Squeelin Gypsy there and camp and I'll just drive home Friday and Saturday nights. 

I'm a pretty frugal gal and hate to buy anything new - about all I use Wally World for is the essentials to keep clean and healthy.  So, I went to several charity thrift stores yesterday looking for things for the Gypsy.  I found 2 yard of what I think to be an acrylic felt type of product.  I'm not sure what it is, but I am sure that it will be good to lay down on a park table as a table cloth, on the floor for wet/muddy shoes, or as a ground cover in case I want something more solid to set my chair on when chillin by the wayside.  Don't know what its intended purpose is, but for $1.50 for 2 yards its a bargain in my books!!!

What I learned today:  Me, an unbiased/unprejudiced person that doesn't base opinions on a persons race, sex or preferences, was surprised that when I went to an appointment with someone I had never met, and found them to be nowhere near what I imagined based on their name.  I have to remember that all Bubba's aren't big white country boys and that all LaQuisha's arent always small, round, black girls.  The lesson - don't peg someone based on their name.  Lesson learned.   

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Week 1

Well, I finally did it.  I have been wanting to try my hand at boondocking in my big old van for some time, and this weekend was the first time I actually slept in it while on a trip.  I've thought for a long time about getting out and away - but thought a single woman just didn't go traveling and sleeping in their van.  That was until I found the RVBuddies and Boondocking forums on Yahoo.

I don't intend to live in the van.  I just want to go/see/play/do as much as I can.  I hope to make many friends out on the road and to cram as much living into each day as possible.  No more thinking about it...it IS time for action!

For the next several years I'll be taking my van on weekend and longer trips while maintaining my home base.  I will come home long enough to finish some jobs (I'm self employed) to make enough money to go on the road again.   

My primary interest is in Native American cultural activities.  I'm Native and will be boondocking at Pow Wow's near and far. All it takes is time, gas/food money and for the old "Squeelin Gypsy" to make it another mile down the road. 


If you're wondering about the name of my blog, my old 1992 Ford van squeels.  I've had it worked on a couple of times and neither mechanic could stop it.  You know, the kind that when you hear a car going down the road you have to stop and look at it?  Yep, that'll be me....squeelin and rollin down the road!  The Gypsy part of the name comes from one of my relatives referring to my somewhat unconventional lifestyle as that of a Gypsy.  Works for me...I'm just glad he didn't refer to me as the Village Idiot or my blog would be called the Squeelin Village Idiont!!!  LOL  The squeel will probably make slealth parking somewhat less effective, so I'll just have to make sure I'm settled for the night before it gets too late and I wake everyone up!!!

What I learned this week:  IF you're already parked in a sweet spot for sleeping, don't go wandering around trying to find someplace better.  I thought I didn't want to sleep in a field by the Pow Wow grounds so I ended up in a hospital parking lot.  It was a small town, so there wasn't much going on at the hospital, but there were plenty of lights on.  I should have stayed parked out in the field where it was really dark and quiet.  Lesson learned.